GRATITUDE

GRATITUDE
By Linda Robertson
December 21, 2012

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to all my friends and readers. I doubt that I will get back to you before Christmas and this has me thinking about gratitude. I have so much to be grateful for, even though hard times have befallen me. I’m still alive, I’m still breathing, and I still have a good working brain – although some would challenge that thought.

Among the things I’m grateful for this season are the following:
1. I’m grateful that I can see my faults and realize I might as well laugh about them now.
2. I’m never confused about anything… no wait! Maybe I’m not.
3. If I don’t remember it, it didn’t happen.
4. I’m grateful that every day is the best day of the year.
5. Nothing is worth more than this day. Goethe
6. Autumn is a second spring when every leaf is a flower. Albert Camus.
7. I’m grateful that I am the richest person in the world, because I have friends who love me.
8. I’m the reflection of every person who wants to go from nothing to something. Kyle Rifken
9. I can plant a seed of friendship and reaped a bouquet of happiness. Lois L. Kaufman
10. I’m grateful that when I open my mind, no marbles fall out.
11. I’m grateful that no one can dim my light but me, and all I have to do is shut the refrigerator door.
12. My formula for living is quite simple. I get up in the morning and I go to bed at night. In between, I occupy myself as best I can. Cary Grant
13. Outside of a dog, a book is a man’s best friend. Inside of a dog it’s too dark to read. Groucho Marx
14. A true friend is someone who thinks that you are a good egg even though he knows that you are slightly cracked. Bernard Meltzer
15. Friends are those rare people who ask how we are and then wait to hear the answer. Ed Cunningham
16. There are a good many fools who call me a friend, and also a good many friends who call me a fool. G. K. Chesterton
17. One good reason to only maintain a small circle of friends is that three out of four murders are committed by people who know the victim. George Carlin
18. The best time to make friends is before you need them. Ethel Barrymore
19. Good friends, good books and a sleepy conscience: this is the ideal life. Mark Twain
20. The happiest people don’t have the best of everything, they just make the best of everything they have. Anonymous
21. The richest person is not the one who has the most, but the one who needs the least. Anonymous
22. A best friend is a sister that destiny forgot to give you. Anonymous.
23. Shoes are proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy. Mrs. Ben Franklin.
24. Good friends are like angels, you don’t have to see them to know they are there.
25. And one of my all-time favorites, of course, is, “Life should NOT be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in an attractive and well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways. Champagne in one hand – strawberries in the other, body thoroughly used up, totally worn out and screaming “WOO HOO!! What a ride!”

So now you can see the world through my eyes. I am the epitome of a cockeyed optimist, constantly searching for happiness, health, companionship, success, and love. Do you think that’s too much to ask for? I don’t. Someone once said, if you desire it, it will be yours. Of course, I’m paraphrasing, and I don’t know the author but it’s a good philosophy – sort of like the “Field of Dreams” movie when Kevin Costner is told “if you build it, they will come.” Talk about optimism! He spent his life searching for his father with an optimistic viewpoint, and tearing down that field to build a baseball diamond lead him directly to his dream.
I wish you now, once again, a very Merry Christmas and a wonderful, happy new year. I hope Santa brings you everything you want and need, and may your muses be consistently blessed.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

