A NEW DAWN, A NEW DAY, A NEW LIFE

January 1, 2013

Good happy 2013 morning to all my friends, relatives, and loved ones! Actually, the last one covers the first two!!!

I woke up wonderfully this morning! I was still alive, I didn’t fall out of bed, I didn’t squish the cat, I didn’t NOT make it to the bathroom on time (what a relief!) (and what bad grammar!), I prettied myself up for the day so that I can be spontaneous at a moment’s notice (LOL – cracked myself up!), and my daily “To Do” list is less than a foot away and everything on it is manageable for a full 24-hour day! Whew! Wore myself out!

So, what else is new? In 2012, I was published a few times, but so far, haven’t collected my payments. Blue Mountain Arts has accepted another 17 poems for market review and I’m very excited about that. No more grandchildren, although I’m keeping my fingers crossed, and I lost 27 pounds! It was a hard year for controlling my pain, but in looking at my accomplishments and personal gifts, it wasn’t too bad.

Robyn and I have talked a little bit about publishing our book on the internet. We’ll be meeting sometime in January or February to discuss it further and we’ll also be searching for more mainstream publishers through Writer’s Market, Writersmarketonline.com, and word of mouth/networking.

I’m no longer co-editor for our local writers’ eNewsletter. A few weeks ago, I spent 27 hours compiling the address list with names, addresses, phone numbers, and email addresses, what classes they currently attend, plus just a complete email list linked together so that the other co-editor can just copy and paste the list to email and send out the eNewsletter. Now that that’s done, she’s decided to hand over the reins to someone else. I hope she finds some willing volunteers because it is a valuable quarterly newsletter with current conference dates, publishers who are accepting work, a Memorial section for those we’ve lost in each quarter, and always, many valuable writing tips.

Now for my 2013’s goals: (1) Lose weight and exercise (HAHAHA) – that’s a daily goal! (2) Submit more writings to publishers. (3) Be better at organizational skills, in both home and business situations. (4) Find true love – anybody out there the perfect man? (As If! Another big giggle!) (5) Spend less, save more. (6) Continue thanking God for the gifts He’s given me and not asking Him for material things. (7) Be loving to all people: be more generous, be helpful. (8) Most of all, use the lesson I was given a year ago from God: BE HAPPY. JUST BE. It was that simple, that pure, that straightforward voice in my ear at 4:30 a.m. that changed my life completely. I needed to restructure my attitudes, my outlook on life, my spirituality, my general being, and most of all, my peace of mind. BE HAPPY. JUST BE. I’ve been practicing that every day since November 17, 2011. And it’s working!

May I share it with you and offer this amazing spiritual gift to you. Our lives continue to be filled with stress and anxiety over money, relationships, children, and our elderly. But I strongly recommend that you take a step back and reexamine your life from this day forward. With this new year upon us, please take a moment to open your eyes and see clearly what is ahead for you. Accept it; don’t dwell on it. You never know when a miracle will pop its little head up and hand you a gift certificate for change. Accept it freely and gratefully, then use it immediately. Set new goals, pay off a bill, spend extra time with your children, tell your family how much they mean to you, honor your mate, (Use the word “love” – it won’t bite!), but above all, honor yourself, because without you in the world, circumstances around you would be greatly different. Just think of George Bailey in the Christmas movie, “It’s A Wonderful Life.” Clarence, his guardian angel, shows George just what the people around him would be like if he’d never been born. Well, that holds true to this day…if you weren’t here, all your relationships would alter every person you know.

On this perfect new day in this amazing new year of hope, I wish you very good things…and thank you for being my friend.

I love you very much!
Linda Robertson

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

